Eden Hazard has been named the Chelsea Player of
the Year and the Players’ Player of the Year.

On a night of celebration, other winners included
Kurt Zouma, who was named Young Player of the
Year, Oscar, who won the Goal of the Year award for
his strike against QPR, and Dominic Solanke, who
picked up the Academy Player of the Year prize.

The sense of occasion was added to when Lord
Attenborough was posthumously honoured with a
Special Recognition award. Gianfranco Zola and
Dennis Wise, two men who enjoyed a very close
relationship with our Life President who died last
year, presented a special shirt to his son Michael on
behalf of the club.

Hazard adds his two club awards tonight to the three
prestigious individual accolades he has already
picked up this season: the PFA Player of the Year, the
Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year
and the Barclays Premier League Player of the Year.

It is the second season in a row he has won the main
award at the traditional end-of-season do, which this
year was held at Battersea Evolution, not far from
Stamford Bridge. Clare Balding hosted the evening.

The main award was voted for by supporters on this
website, with Hazard, Diego Costa, Cesc Fabregas,
Nemanja Matic and John Terry making up the final
five nominations.

Having received so much recognition already this
season, Hazard was proud to cap off his season with
the support of both the Chelsea fans and his peers,
who joined him on stage at the end.

‘The season was fantastic, not only for me but for the
team,' he pointed out. 'We won two trophies and I
got a lot of individual awards. I want to share these
trophies with everybody, the fans and the players.

‘I just want to say thank you to my teammates
because they work for me. I think it’s a good choice!
‘We respect each other. We are good friends.

Everybody likes each other and that’s why we won
the league. We motivate each other and I hope next
season we can win a lot of trophies.'

Zouma meanwhile was named Young Player of the
Year after a memorable first season in west London.

Didier Drogba handed over that prize and recalled
the moment he first jumped to try and win a header
against Zouma, knowing instantly, having come off
second best, that the French defender was good
enough for Chelsea.

Zouma added: ‘I want to say thank you to the fans,
thank you for everything. You were there all season.
I hope we will win more titles next season.’

Oscar picked up the first prize of the evening,
handed over by former Blues Carlo Cudicini and
Tore Andre Flo, for his glorious outside-of-the-boot
effort against our west London rivals back in

He also won the award, voted for by fans on, back in 2013, and our no.8 said on
receiving it for a second time: 'It was a beautiful goal
and a beautiful assist from Cesc. I am so happy to
win this award and my first title at the club.’

The inaugural Academy Player of the Year award
went to Dominic Solanke, who has scored 41 goals at
youth level this season and also made his first-team
debut, against Maribor. He netted in each and every
round of our victorious FA Youth Cup and UEFA
Youth League campaigns and received his trophy
from Chelsea legend Eddie Newton.

'It’s been an amazing achievement throughout the
whole season,' Solanke noted.

'I like to work hard and do what I can for the team,
and obviously the position I play I try to score as
many goals as I can. I have to keep working hard and
see how far I can go.’


Eniola Aluko won the Chelsea Ladies Player of the
Year award, with her manager Emma Hayes
collecting the prize in her absence because the
striker is in Canada preparing for the forthcoming
World Cup with England. Aluko, who has helped
Chelsea Ladies to the top of the Women’s Super
League and the final of the FA Women’s Cup,
delivered a video message and couldn't hide her
delight at the result.

‘I’m sorry I can’t be there,’ Aluko said. ‘Thank you so
much for this incredible award. I wouldn’t be able to
do it without the amazing staff we’ve got. I hope we
can go on and win titles this year. I feel proud to be

There were also fond farewells to main club sponsor
Samsung, after 10 successful years together, and
charity partner Right to Play, whose eight-year
association with Chelsea comes to an end.

Jose Mourinho, the mastermind behind our success
this season, provided one of the highlights of the
night, telling a fictional tale about three different
teams that tried to get FIFA to change the rules of
the game to suit their respective styles of play. It was
not hard to work out who he was referring to on
each occasion, but he ended by stressing that our
opposition will be stronger next season and we must
rise to the challenge.

The evening though was all about celebrating
another fantastic season for the Blues, something
the manager highlighted when he invited each and
every player on stage before giving a certain brilliant
Belgian winger the main award.

1967 Peter Bonetti
1968 Charlie Cooke
1969 David Webb
1970 John Hollins
1971 John Hollins
1972 David Webb
1973 Peter Osgood
1974 Gary Locke
1975 Charlie Cooke
1976 Ray Wilkins
1977 Ray Wilkins
1978 Micky Droy
1979 Tommy Langley
1980 Clive Walker
1981 Petar Borota
1982 Mike Fillery
1983 Joey Jones
1984 Pat Nevin
1985 David Speedie
1986 Eddie Niedzwiecki
1987 Pat Nevin
1988 Tony Dorigo
1989 Graham Roberts
1990 Ken Monkou
1991 Andy Townsend
1992 Paul Elliott
1993 Frank Sinclair
1994 Steve Clarke
1995 Erland Johnsen
1996 Ruud Gullit
1997 Mark Hughes
1998 Dennis Wise
1999 Gianfranco Zola
2000 Dennis Wise
2001 John Terry
2002 Carlo Cudicini
2003 Gianfranco Zola
2004 Frank Lampard
2005 Frank Lampard
2006 John Terry
2007 Michael Essien
2008 Joe Cole
2009 Frank Lampard
2010 Didier Drogba
2011 Petr Cech
2012 Juan Mata
2013 Juan Mata
2014 Eden Hazard
2015 Eden Hazard

1983 Keith Dublin
1984 Robert Isaac
1985 Gareth Hall
1986 Micky Bodley
1987 Jason Cundy
1988 Eddie Cunnington
1989 No award
1990 No award
1991 Andy Myers
1992 Zeke Rowe
1993 Neil Shipperley
1994 Mark Nicholls
1995 Chris McCann
1996 Jody Morris
1997 Nick Crittenden
1998 John Terry
1999 Sam Dalla Bona
2000 Rhys Evans
2001 Leon Knight
2002 Carlton Cole
2003 Robert Huth
2004 Robert Huth
2005 Robert Huth
2006 Lassana Diarra
2007 John Mikel Obi
2008 The U18s youth team
2009 Michael Mancienne
2010 The U18s youth team
2011 Josh McEachran
2012 Lucas Piazon
2013 Nathan Ake
2014 Lewis Baker
2015 Kurt Zouma

2006 Claude Makelele
2007 Didier Drogba
2008 Ricardo Carvalho
2009 Ashley Cole
2010 Florent Malouda
2011 Ashley Cole
2012 Ramires
2013 Juan Mata
2014 Cesar Azpilicueta
2015 Eden Hazard

2007 Michael Essien v Arsenal (home)
2008 Juliano Belletti v Tottenham (home)
2009 Michael Essien v Barcelona (home)
2010 Ashley Cole v Sunderland (home)
2011 Ramires v Manchester City (home)
2012 Ramires v Barcelona (away)
2013 Oscar v Juventus (home)
2014 Lewis Baker v Arsenal Under-21s (away)
2015 Oscar v QPR (home)

Related Article

Posted By BOBRICKY On 09:12 Wed, 27 May 2015

Comments:0 || Views:



Please LOGIN or REGISTER To Gain Full Access To This Article